Skip to content ↓

KS1 & KS2 Sats

What are SATs?

SATs are national tests that children take twice during their primary school life. Firstly, at the end of Key Stage 1 (KS1) in Year 2, and then secondly, at the end of Key Stage 2 (KS2) in Year 6. These standardised tests are actually known as End of Key Stage Tests and Assessments, but most people know them as SATs.

What do SATs aim to achieve?

SATs are an indicator of the progress your child has made at school so far. They are not a measure of whether your child is passing or failing; they simply show where your child is currently working at.

SATs at KS1

KS1 tests are assessed by teachers. This means that there is no external marking, except occasionally for moderation, and the tests themselves tend to be fairly informal, so as not to create any undue pressure for pupils. Currently, children are tested in maths (reasoning & arithmetic) and English (reading, spelling, punctuation and grammar). 

SATs at KS2

Pupils sit their second set of SATs at the end of KS2, in Year 6. These tests are more formal than those taken in KS1 and have set exam days as well as external marking in the majority of schools. Children will take exams in English reading comprehension, grammar, punctuation, spelling, mathematical reasoning, and arithmetic.


Please refer to the Parent Information Guidance from the DfE for further information about the SATs.